The community

The Committee

Office Bearers

Chairman

Dave Mead
chairman@braaonline.uk
Plot  81

Vice-Chairman

Peter Reeks
Plot 14

Site Manager

Roy Bearman
manager@braaonline.uk
Plots 60 & 61

Assistant Site Manager

Paul Brett
Plot 77

Treasurer

Graeme Whiteside
treasurer@braaonline.uk
Plot 56

Assistant Treasurer

Sue Bearman
Plot 60 & 61

Secretary

Sue Roberts
secretary@braaonline.uk
Plots  4 & 5

Membership Secretary

Sue Roberts
membership@braaonline.uk
Plots  4 & 5

Webmaster

Graeme Whiteside
webmaster@braaonline.uk
Plot 56

Committee Members

Sarah Gover

Plot 52B

Peter Kembury

Plots 29 & 30

Ken Newens

Plot 53

John Rogers

Plots 64

Brian Smith

Plot 52B

Alan Touzel

Plots 62

The Community

As an association we have an active group of committee members working together with plot holders to maintain and generally improve our site.  The size of new plots has been reduced, giving more people from our waiting list the opportunity to become ‘allotmenteers’.

Every year in the Summer the Committee organise a Member’s Summer Show & Open Day where home grown produce can be purchased.  There is usually a tombola, games, cake/refreshments  and  a barbecue – not to be missed.

The Open Day, as it says is open to all, public included and neighbouring properties can often be seen returning each year to sample home grown vegetables and cakes contributed by members and their families.

There is a Show Tent where if members wish they can show their produce.   There are many categories that can be entered and even a children’s section. As  they say it’s the taking part that counts  and it’s a bit of fun on a hopefully warm summer’s day.

Brook Road Site along with three others in Bournemouth, form the Bournemouth Federation of Allotments.  Each year there is a competition for the Best Allotment and also the Best Plot.  We are lucky enough to say that we won Best Allotment 2 years running in 2014 and 2015, and one of our plot holders has won Best Plot for 2016, 2017 and 2018.

One of our members has, with general agreement, sited a bee hive(s) on his plot.  This has in the past resulted in excellent pollination for all our flowering fruit and vegetables.